North State Journal, NSJ Staff

RALEIGH — Senate Leader Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) and House Speaker Tim Moore (R-Cleveland) last week named 15 lawmakers to a newly created Joint Select Committee on Judicial Reform and Redistricting. The House and Senate agreed to form the committee to discuss reforms to judicial elections and any changes to judicial districts.

The membership of the committee consists of 18 Republicans and 12 Democrats.

From the N.C. House, Rep. Justin Burr will co-chair with Rep. David Lewis, and Reps. Hugh Blackwell, John Blust, Ted Davis, Holly Grange, Destin Hall, Duane Hall, Darren Jackson, Joe John, Jonathan Jordan, Robert Reives, Billy Richardson, David Rogers and Sarah Stevens will serve as committee members.

“This joint committee is an important step in our comprehensive legislative process to reaffirm the rights of North Carolinians who deserve balanced representation, an equal voice and full confidence in their justice system,”Moore said.

Read full article at >